Gluten Free Granola

For the first time in 7.5 years of being gluten free, I’m ready to say “I have Celiac Disease.” No, I still haven’t been officially diagnosed. But a trip to my parents reminded me that my dad HAS been diagnosed celiac. So with vast improvement on a gluten free diet and my father having Celiac Disease, it is likely what I have too. There really isn’t any difference to how I’ll live my life with this change of words, but some things will change. I’ve always told people that one of the hall marks to me of having Celiac is knowing that if you eat gluten you’ll increase your chances of various cancers significantly. So with this change in wording, I need to remind myself that that sentiment applies to me too. I need to be more mindful of trace gluten along with actual gluten consumption (perhaps I need to cut out the occasional cheating at weddings…).

I was also inspired in the last 10 days ‘on vacation’ to rethink my diet and maybe actually put into practice some of the ideas I’ve been thinking about. I need to cut down on crap sugar intake, refined flours and such and actually cut completely out of my diet high fructose corn syrup. The recipe below is a step in the right direction, but it still needs some work.

Gluten Free Granola
I’ll be doing some tweeking of this recipe eventually, but this was my starting point tonight. I need breakfast for tomorrow (and this week in general) and wanted to make granola. But I don’t have any peanut butter, which my usual recipe calls for. So I gave this one a go based on what I have on hand. I used this recipe from Gluten Free Gobsmacked and altered it based on my tastes and what I didn’t need to make a second trip to the grocery store for.

1. Mix, in a medium bowl, 1.75 c GF rolled oats with crushed GF cereal to make a total of 3c ‘cereal’
2. Mix in 2/3 c sunflower seeds, 1 c crumbled pecan pieces, 1/3 c ground flax seed, 2 t cinnamon, and 2/3 c dried cranberries.
3. In a small pan (or in the microwave if you have one), melt 3 T salted butter.
4. Once the butter is melted add 2/3 c real maple syrup and 2 T brown sugar. Simmer until the brown sugar is fully dissolved.
5. Pour maple syrup mixture into the cereal/nut mixture and mix well.
6. Pat into a large cookie sheet sprayed with oil and bake 25-30 min at 325F. Ideally you should flip it every 8-10 min.

**Caveats** I didn’t preheat my oven. Hell, the oven shouldn’t even be on right now. It’s hot (well, for Wisconsin it’s hot). This also means that I did the first mix/flip, but none of the others. I just can’t stand to be in front of the oven right now. The rest of the house is finally cooling down and really, I’m fine if this doesn’t come out perfect. I’m also making a move to STOP using parchment paper and just deal with cleaning the pan. While I do love how easy clean up is with parchment paper, I don’t like the waste of putting another item into the trash can. Instead I’ll see how just washing the pan itself goes (and no, I don’t use nonstick either).

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

