Rainbow cupcakes with raspberry buttercream

A really nice coworker made me “cupcakes” for my birthday:

So of course I had to try to top her and make something even more awesome for the next person’s birthday. I went with rainbow cupcakes with raspberry buttercream.

I used version II of the white cake recipe from “The Joy of Cooking” as my cupcake recipe. I wouldn’t suggest using this recipe. You lose some of the loft from handling the batter so much for these cupcakes. Now I know.

Here’s what the plain batter looks like:

I used standard food dye to make the colors:

And you can be damn straight that I put the colored batters in the right order:

The buttercream. The person who actually had the birthday told me that she liked raspberry. So I made raspberry buttercream.

Raspberry Buttercream
1. In a small sauce pan cook down about 12 ounces of berries. I didn’t have 12 full ounces of raspberries, so I put some blueberries and blackberries in too. You want to cook this until it’s pretty thick. The directions I followed suggest down to 1/4 cup, but I lost patience and stopped before then. Let it cool.

2. Sift/filter (what word am I looking for?!?) out the seeds.

3. Cream 1 stick of butter.

4. As the mixer is going, add in batches, 2 cups powdered sugar, the sauce, and 1/2 tsp lemon juice. Blend until smooth.

5. Add another 1.5 cups powdered sugar, or to taste and desired consistency.

2 Responses

  1. can you eat ice cream cones? Or did you just visually appreciate the coworker gift.

    Similarly, when you cook for others, do you use flour then?

    And I have found the betty crocker cookbook to be pretty spot on for baking.

    • I went back to eating gluten last December, so those are regular ice cream cones. And I certainly bake with regular flour now. When I was gluten free, I kept a completely (ok, with exceptions for the ManBeast) gluten free kitchen. The bag of regular flour we bought 3 months ago is the first time any of my kitchen stuff has ever seen a regular flour. It’s actually been a little strange.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

