Salad Dressing

One of the things I heard about Harmony Valley before signing up with them is that they grow A LOT of greens. And that many people have problems keeping up with the amount of greens. Other than this last box, which I had a migraine for part of, and also moved, I’ve had no problem keeping up. But that’s because I LOVE salad. As in, I have HUGE bowls of it. Below are my two go-to salad dressings. I haven’t bought pre-bottled salad dressing in quite some time (other than the packets of salad dressing from the cafe at school, but thats only out of shear laziness). I’ve found I much prefer the taste of these two dressings. Probably something about changing tastes, no preservatives, and being able to make them cheaply at home with things I normally have any way. I’m also addicted to Trader Joes Peach Salsa. I keep the jars and make dressing in them. I find they are the perfect size for things like this.

Lemon Tahini Dressing
2/3 c tahini
6-9 T lemon juice (the original recipe called for 3 lemons juiced)
3 T balsamic vinegar (if looks matter to you, try white balsamic vinegar, but the taste will be the same)
1 t salt
1 t sugar (I usually add more)

Blend these and adjust for taste.
Add 1 c olive oil.

The original recipe said to do this in a blender. I’m sure it gives wonderful results. But I don’t have a blender and for dressing, I’m not likely to want to make more mess than I have to. I usually put the first set of ingredients in a bottle, shake it up well, then add the oil, shake more. It works for me.

Sweet Balsamic-Mustard Salad Dressing
Whoever I got this recipe from based it on one from Gluten-Free By the Bay’s blog. So I guess that person deserves some credit for this.

1/4 c balsamic vinegar
1/4 c olive oil
1 T honey
2 T dijon mustard
1/2 t ground black pepper

First, measure your olive oil out. But before pouring it all into your jar (or blender), pour a bit into your 1 T measuring spoon. Pour it out, THEN measure your honey. Look at how easy it comes off the spoon!
Blend everything together and enjoy!

Do you have a favorite go-to dressing that you make at home?

One Response

  1. […] Woodmans. I also had a pomegranate (very not local!) and feta. And a topped off bottle of homemade dressing. Other not pictured ingredients included Kosher salt, pepper, garlic powder, rosemary, butter, and […]

Leave a Reply

