Kansas Cucumber Salad

Now that I’m back from vacation and mostly caught up on my life, hopefully you’ll be seeing a lot more of me around here.

This is one of those standard mayo summer salad recipes. But for whatever reason, people always tell my mom and I they love this particular one. And today I got to make it using all produce from my CSA box.

There are a number of different ways to do this, so below is how I usually make it. On the cucumbers, I suggest peeling them. I’m eating this right now with unpeeled cucumbers, and frankly, I don’t like the consistency as much. I also much prefer this recipe with the cucumbers deseeded. I think the seeds make it much waterier. Some people also report that the seeds aggravate their acid reflux. My mom swears that her recipe says to slice them using the long single blade side on her hand shredder. I just use my chef’s knife and slice as thin as I can get them without including slices of my fingers.
My guess is that the original recipe my mom found was probably in one of her Southern living types of magazines. But it’s been so long that I don’t think she remembers, and I just don’t care!

Kansas Cucumber Salad

2 cucumbers sliced thin, see above for prep suggestions (I like mine peeled and deseeded)
3 spring onions sliced thin
1/2 c mayo
2 T sugar
2 t vinegar
1/4 t salt
1 t dill weed (I used probably 1 T fresh today)

Combine all.
Chill for a bit (honestly, it does taste better when you let it chill for at least an hour, but it surely is edible before than).
Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

