Lemon Pepper Sauteed Chicken, Beet Pancakes, and Green Beans

Yup, two posts in one day! I post when I have content, and this was tonight’s dinner, so here you go.

Lemon Pepper Sauteed Chicken, Beet Pancakes and (over) steamed green beans
The only thing that really has a recipe is the beet pancake. If you want to know how I did the chicken, just ask. All I did was (over) steam the green beans.

This recipe is courtesy of Mark Bittman on NPR. Below is how I did it.

3/4 lb beets
1/2 t dried rosemary
1/2 t salt
2T flour (I used some left over GF four bean flour I had)
2 T butter

1. Trim the beets and peel them as you would potatoes; grate them and get annoyed with the core and chop those thinly by hand.
2. Toss the grated beets in a bowl with the rosemary and salt, then add about half the flour; toss well, add the rest of the flour, then toss again.
3. Place the butter in the skillet and heat until it begins to turn nut-brown. Scrape the beet mixture into the skillet, shape it into a nice circle, and press it down with a spatula. Turn the heat to medium-high and cook, shaking the pan occasionally, until the bottom of the beet cake is nicely crisp, 6 to 8 minutes. (next time I’ll turn my flame down a bit more so I don’t end up with caramelized beet pancake).
4. Flip it somehow. Bittman suggests a lot of sliding and flipping between plates. I got it to work eventually, but be aware you pancake may fall apart in the process. Continue to cook, adjusting the heat if necessary, until the second side is browned. Cut into wedges and serve immediately.

This is definitely a make again. I ate it with creme fraiche simply because I had it, but sour cream would work just as well. Next time I think I’ll cut down on the rosemary a bit. The 1/2 t dried was almost a bit overpowering.

2 Responses

  1. Oooo, just when I was starting to think about what I want to do with the beets that took residence in my fridge two weeks ago. I wonder if adding grated carrots would work out. hmmmm :)

    • I would think adding *some* carrots would be ok. Though I’d be cautious about adding too many, as it might affect how well they are held together.

Leave a Reply

