Guacamole-ish Salsa

I saw a post yesterday in a cooking community looking for good salsa recipes, and realized that I too could make salsa with all the tomatoes I’d just picked up from my CSA. I’m not much of a tomato person, I’m not sure why, and thought this would be a good way to use them up. Some of you may be shocked to know this is the first time I’ve ever made salsa. That’s probably because I don’t like most salsas in restaurants. They are generally too acidic/bland/hot/whatever. If this is what salsa always tasted like, I’d probably eat it by the gallon (and keep the vampires away in the process).

Salsa
the equivalent of 2 large tomatoes (which for me was actually 1 large tomato, 1 medium tomato, 2 small tomatoes, and 7 very small tomatoes)
2/3 of a jalepeno (see notes below)
1/2 small onion
3 large cloves of garlic
1 avocado
Salt
Lemon juice

Chop the tomatoes into small chunks. Finely dice the onion. Finely dice the jalepeno and garlic together. Cut up the avocado. Mix all in a bowl, sprinkling on some salt to taste. I was going to add a tablespoon of lemon juice, but ended up having less than a teaspoon. It still tasted wonderful. I’d suggest letting the whole shebang chill a bit. Enjoy with chips ;)

Jalepeno notes:
If you buy jalepenos you know that sometimes you get really nice and hot ones, and sometimes you get ones that could almost be a bell pepper. I read somewhere recently that if you look for ones that have white ribbing on them, you’ll be more likely to get hotter ones. That worked for the one I used here. When I find the link, I’ll post it here.
Also, if you’ve never worked with a jalepeno, you should know that it is the seeds and internal ribs they sit on that are the hottest, so if you like really hot, leave these parts in, if not, take most of it out.
And as soon as I figure out how to get the tilde over the n’s in jalepeno, I’ll go back and fix those too.

Leave a Reply

