Cheaters Fries

I have no clue how you are supposed to make fries. I’ve never made them before and it isn’t often a thing I read up on. But I’ve been craving fries for A LONG time. As in years. Very few places have GF fries, mostly because they fry other things in the same oil (Dear Hubbards Diner, Thanks for the false advertising. Your fries are NOT GF, please take them off your GF menu. Tease.).

My CSA box came with potatoes the past two times I’ve gone to pick them up and I wasn’t really sure what to do with them. See, I’m not a potato kind of gal. I’ll eat them in various forms, but they aren’t the first thing I go for, and most people don’t make them the way I like them anyway. But french fries… Oh my.

One of the things my family used to do when I was a kid is cut them up, boil them, and eat with ketchup (or ketchup and mayo in my case) as a side dish. I don’t remember liking it much, but thought I’d see if my adult taste buds thought otherwise. They didn’t (I think it’s actually a texture thing, not so much the taste). So here I was with quite a few cut up boiled potatoes and not a clue of what to do with them when brilliance struck! I could try frying them. While they didn’t come out perfect, I’ve eaten more than a serving of Cheaters Fries thus far, so it must be decent.

Cheaters Fries
1. Chop up some quantity of potatoes, leaving the skin on (well, we still don’t have a peeler, and frankly, I think the skins taste good on them this way).
2. Boil until cooked through.
3. Now, the next step, I’m not sure it was necessary, but is how it happened for me. Leave your boiled potatoes in the fridge for a few days.
4. Heat up about 1/4″? of oil in a large pot (I used canola, you DON’T want to use olive oil, as olive oil isn’t a good frying oil).
5. When the oil is good and hot and starting to shimmer, put the potatoes in in a single layer.
6. Let them fry for a while.
7. With a slotted spoon, test a few to see if they release from the bottom of the pan. If they do, give the whole lot a good mix. And continue every once in a while until the potatoes are browned to your liking. I didn’t time how long mine took.
8. Remove to a paper towel to drain.
9. Start a second batch if all your potatoes didn’t fit in the first time.
10. Eat as desired (sprinkled with salt in my case).

2 Responses

  1. Hey Alissa!

    I love potatoes roasted… Cut them into triangular strips, coat them with olive oil and sprinkle them with salt, olive oil, garlic & rosemary and roast them in the oven for a while until they brown a little. They’re even better if you throw in sweet potatoes, carrots, and onions into the mix.

    Lisa

    P.S. I don’t want my email published on the website in case it leads to junk mail, so I made up one since it’s required.

  2. Lisa – I can handle a roasted veggie mix, and I’ll eat roasted potatoes by themselves, but they still aren’t all that good to me (the potatoes, not the veggies). I’m not sure why.

    And thanks for the heads up about the email. I think the email address only comes to me, but I’ll double check just so I know.

Leave a Reply

