Summer Salad

This is one of those non-recipe recipes. One of those “I have a pot luck to be at in 1/2 hour and I don’t know what to bring and I don’t have time to cook” sort of things. I had a lot of veggies sitting around, and since I pick up a new box Sat, figured I should get through a bit more of what I had. Plus I picked up a HUGE zucchini at work. This was also a good reminder to me that salads don’t always involve a lettuce base.

So here’s what I ended up with.
Summer Salad
2 limp carrots
1 small eggplant
1 very small zucchini
1/3 of a very large zucchini
2 ears of corn shucked and cut from the cob
about 1″ of jalepeno, seeds removed
1 medium tomato
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
3/4 cup olive oil

Chop all the veggies into bite size pieces (I’d suggest deseeding the tomato and the larger section of the zucchini) and put into a large bowl.
Mix the olive oil and balsamic vinegar together (I save salsa jars for dressing making, shaking is easy and there’s so much less clean up then a blender, but I’m sure it doesn’t blend as well. Whatever).
Pour dressing over veggies and if you have a lid that seals tight, place it on and give it all a good shake to mix. Open and serve.

Seriously easy. Honestly, any veggie that tastes ok raw could go into this.

One Response

  1. I read this earlier today and totally used your salsa jar tip for making dressing for a rice salad I took to a potluck tonight–I knew I would use that salsa jar for something!

    PS the rice salad was awesome and gf, you would’ve liked it I think, I’ll bring it to another potluck sometime

Leave a Reply

