“I’m sick and want soup” soup

Hopefully I don’t jumble this too bad. I’m hopped up on sudafed and an expectorant, so we’ll see. If something doesn’t make sense, or it seems I’ve left something out, just ask. Just don’t call. I’ve lost my voice.

I got back from Vegas late Wed night and seem to have bought some fun respiratory germs with me. I made it through most of yesterday, but came home wanting some sort of chicken soup last night. I really wanted chicken noddle, but didn’t think the noodles I had would be a good choice. So I made something akin to a chicken chowder that I make in the winter. I’m sure I’ll post that recipe later when it’s more chowder season. I’ll also post another day about making chicken stock (it’s really easy).

Chicken Soup
In a medium/small soup pot, put a bit of chicken (I had 1/2 lb of boneless skinless chicken thighs), cover with water, and bring to a boil. Poach until cooked through.
In the mean time, chop up some potatoes, I used 4 smallish ones, skins on.
Chop up a huge carrot.
And an onion.
And 4+ cloves of garlic (I should have used A LOT more considering my current state).
Cut the corn off two ears of corn.
After the chicken has cooked, remove it with a slotted spoon and set aside.
Add the potatoes to the water you just cooked the chicken in. If you used the type of chicken I did, you’ll want to add chicken stock to give it better flavor and more umph. I added about 2.5 c of home made stock.
While the potatoes are cooking, melt some butter in a saute pan and saute the onion and garlic until done to your liking. Add the carrots and saute a bit more.
Add this veggie mix to the potatoes.
Cook until the potatoes are pretty much done. Add the corn.
Chop the chicken and add it back into the pot.
Heat through and add salt and pepper to your liking.

This usually takes me 30-45 min, depending on how fast I’m work and how good I am at paying attention. Last night it took 45 min because I was slow and was bad at timing.

Note: For the future chicken stock recipe: Keep the onion ends and onion paper you cut off, plus the carrot ends you may have removed. Put them in a freezer bag and chuck into the freezer. If the chicken you used had bones, put the bones in the same bag. I’ll come back to this when I post about making chicken stock.

Leave a Reply

