Sweet Potato Casserole

Eating leftovers. I tire of turkey quickly. So I’m having some Curry Turkey Salad. Nom nom. Some changes: I hate cilantro and never have parsley. I used 4 teaspoons of dried chives. Could use some more; I’m still getting used to using chives. I also didn’t lemon juice my apple. Nor heat the curry powder. And my dried cranberries are sweetened. Oh, and I used all mayo, because it’s what I had. And no celery. I don’t have any. Despite all these “changes”, very yummy. I aim to use what I have on hand, and all of this, I had already.

Sweet potato casserole is by far the dish I associate with Thanksgiving. Ham too, but most “normal” people insist on turkey, so I make turkey for guests, all the while craving ham to go with my sweet potato casserole.
The sweet potato casserole was only ok this year. I think the sweet potatoes I got from Costco were on the old side, so they were a bit stringy and didn’t roast up very well or very soft. I was really annoyed, especially since I quadrupled the recipe. *sigh*

Sweet Potato Casserol
0. Preheat oven to 350F.
1. Roast and mash 3 c mashed sweet potatoes **They’ll taste better if they were oven roasted, but microwaved will certainly work fine (and the vast majority of people won’t notice).
2. Melt 1/2c butter.
3. Beat 2 eggs.
4. Combine all of the above with 1/2c sugar, 1 t vanilla and 1/3c milk (the version I copied this from made sure to point out that the milk should be homogenized…..).
5. Spoon into 2 quart casserole (about 8×8″).
6. Make topping by combining: 1/2c brown sugar, 1/4c flour, 2.5t melted butter, 1/2c chopped pecans. Sprinkle on top of sweet potato mix.
7. Bake 25-30 min.

Doubles well, but make sure you have enough surface area to cook well and have topping :)

If you have nut problems, you can replace the pecans with *not* fine ground cornmeal. It does taste a bit different, but the texture is about right.

One Response

  1. Recipe convert on the sweet potato casserole! I think I actually like it better cold the next day as a dessert :) Yummmmmm!

Leave a Reply

