Quinoa Mushroom Risotto

This was incredibly tasty and is definitely a make again. Though I’m not sure what you could serve it with to make it a full meal. Perhaps a salad? But what kind of dressing?

If you’ve not cooked with quinoa, I highly suggest it. It’s the only plant that can serve as a complete protein (as in it has all the amino acids we can’t synthesize ourselves). I suggest rinsing quinoa. I’m honestly not sure if you’re “supposed” to, but when I first started eating it, it was the dogma. So I still do it.

Another helpful tip: parmesan freezes well. I don’t use much of it often, so when I buy a block, I shred the whole thing and freeze what I don’t use. It flakes off pretty easy and I can’t tell the difference.

I got the recipe from A Good Appetite. I changed a few things, and since the recipe originally came from Bon Appetit, I don’t feel to bad republishing it here.

Quinoa & Mushroom “Risotto”
1 c water
salt
1/2 c quinoa, rinsed
olive oil
1 small red onion (about 1/4 c), chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 lb crimini mushrooms, sliced (I filled out my 0.5lb with regular mushrooms)
1/2 t thyme
1/2 c cream sherry
grated parmesan

Boil the water, add a bit of salt and the quinoa. Reduce heat, cover & let simmer for about 15 minutes until all the water is absorbed. You’ll also notice that the quinoa is done when the partial ring around the outside starts to separate.

Heat some olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add the onion & saute. I let mine caramlize because I don’t like undercooked onions. Add the garlic & saute for about 30 seconds.
Stir in the mushrooms & thyme into the pan. Cook until the mushrooms are tender. Pour in the sherry & stir, cooking until reduced. Stir in the cooked quinoa. Serve with parmesan sprinkled on top.

One Response

  1. Yum! I’m printing this right now.

Leave a Reply

