self control; and chicken

Where diet, exercise, self control, and saying no collide.

Anyone who knows me in person knows that I have little apprehension about telling someone no. If I don’t want to do something, I’m not doing it. If I can’t go, I don’t hem and haw and tell you maybe. I say no. If you ask me if I like something and I don’t, I’ll tell you. But treat me nice by bringing in gluten free treats? That is my weakness. It isn’t so much the food itself. It’s that you’ve bought something for me, just for me likely, and since I can have it, I should have all of it, right? Needless to say, I ate WAY too much in the sweets junk food category today. But I’m telling you (if you’re gluten free), if any of the other Shabtai products are like the Swiss roll, they must be fabulous. And would likely wreck havoc on any exercise plans I have, as I’m sure what I ate alone today did. Way too much sugar, way too many empty calories.
These lace cookies particularly speak to my heart. I grew up eating them from the ever present NY bakeries and oh how I miss them. They are easy to make gluten free, and not really that hard to make yourself as far as technique, but the process is time consuming. I’ve made them once since going gluten free. Honestly, some times I’m thankful I can’t eat many of these types of foods, as it makes it easier to chose healthier foods more often (which isn’t to say I don’t eat junk food, because trust me, I find ways). I need to learn to have one piece of something and be ok that I’m not eating the rest of it, just because I can.
—–
Also, more evidence that what you eat is more important than the exercise you get, to a degree. *sigh*
—–
I gave myself a minichallenge this weekend, in my head, to see if I could commit myself to some fitness goals without having to tell the world. It went well.
1. I’ve given up alcohol for a month. Easy source of crappy calories that I won’t miss (at least for a month). I even went out Fri night to a bar. I had one glass of soda and that was it.
2. Walk the stairs at work. This one isn’t new, but I did the stairs TWICE while I was in on Sunday, including once *after* doing #3.
3. Go for a walk. I went for a lovely 3 mile walk on campus Sunday. I could see this becoming a habit. Eat a late-ish breakfast, drop my stuff in lab, go for a walk, have lunch in lab, get some work done. Made for a fairly fabulous Sunday, even if I did work the afternoon away.
—–
And now for a recipe. This chicken will make it’s way into my regular rotation, as it was very tasty. The next time I make it I’ll be taking the skin off. It was fine (and tasty) with the skin on, but I have to wonder if the meat would have had more flavor with the skin off. Plus, if we’re talking about cutting extra unnecessary calories, cutting out chicken skin is one more way to do it (though I do love me some well crisped chicken skin).

Sweet Curry Oven Baked Chicken
This is where the recipe came from.

1. Preheat oven to 375F and spray a small baking dish with cooking oil (or however you make things not stick to your pans).
2. 2 chicken quarters (as in a leg attached to the thigh), skin removed
3. Combine 2T mustard (I used a combo of honey and dijon), 2 T brown sugar, 1 t curry powder.
4. Crush 1/2 c corn flakes into crumbs.
5. Smear chicken with mixture on the bottom side and sprinkle with a bit of corn flakes.
6. Place in dish “good” side up and smear with the rest of the mixture and sprinkle with the rest of the corn flakes.
7. Bake 40 or so minutes.
8. Nom.

One Response

  1. I hear you on the treats. I’ve been working hard to budget the treats in so that I have them but don’t splurge. Mixed results there — sometimes it goes great, and other weekends I binge on jelly beans. Chewy stuff is really my nemesis. I’m still not at the stage where I can bring twizzlers home and parcel them out; I’ll eat half the bag before I even stop to think.

    I’ve just been slowly working on the treats in moderation and trying not to kick myself too much if I slip up. After all, we’re not perfect. But, what, you overate sweets for one day? Better than doing so every single day.

    I find the psychological part of weight loss the hardest. Spark People has a mind over body page that is good for helping with those issues.

Leave a Reply

