CSA season has started!

CSA season started for me last Thu. I picked up my first box from Vermont Valley Community Farm. Included in my first box was spinach, salad mix, turnips, lettuce head, chives, radishes, rhubarb, and potatoes. We also got a small basil plant.

Me being me, I’ve already hit the salad hard core and am almost done with the salad mix. Mmmmm, leafy greens.

For the amount of food I got, I think Vermont Valley will be a better CSA fit for me. I think I’ll end up wasting less because a bit less comes in the box. But there will be, I think, a few things that I’ll miss about my Harmony Valley CSA share. I think Harmony Valley does a better job at helping people with their shares in the sense of what they can do with it and letting them know (ideally) a day or so ahead what they’ll be getting in their box. That doesn’t seem to be the case with Vermont Valley so far.

2 Responses

  1. mmmm, sounds yummy. I wish we had done a CSA this summer — I keep meaning to look and see if there are any still accepting customers.

Leave a Reply

