Reading aka Massive Link Love

I read. A LOT. All the time. I was the kid who would read the entire cereal box. I was well into the adult section in the public library in middle school because the young adult section just didn’t have enough for me any more (and that was saying a lot, as we had a good library).
These days I don’t have much time for books. Which is a shame, but I’m sure at some point a bit later in my grad school career I’ll have time again to read BOOKS for *pleasure*. It is something I miss. These days I keep it to blogs and scientific literature. If you don’t already, I highly suggest getting yourself a gmail account and using the Reader function. It’s a great easy way to keep track of blog posts. Because trust me, there is no way I’d ever be able to keep up with 83 74 websites and their posts if it were not for Reader (as I started writing this, I realized that I really needed a feed clean out, 9 sites went in an either ‘you don’t post any more or I don’t like reading you any more’ cut).

So what the hell do I read? See below if you need some reading ideas (or more ways to procrastinate). I’m not saying that all of these blogs or sites are 100% stellar, but I get something out of all of them. Whether it be humor, gluten free information, or science articles that could make or break my PhD, I find them all useful.

Gluten Free – There are tons of gluten free blogs out there these days. I can’t pretend to keep up with them.
Elana’s Pantry
Gluten Free Anna – Recipes, Food, Restaurants, and Hollywood
Gluten Free [Cooking School]
Gluten Free Food Reviews
Gluten Free Gobsmacked
Gluten Free on a Shoestring
Gluten Free Philly
Gluten-Free Bay
Gluten-Free Girl
Hey, that tastes good!
Karina’s Kitchen: Gluten-Free Recipes
No Gluten, No Problem
Gluten Free Girl recommends
Sixty Recipes in Sixty Days
The Essential Gluten-Free Blog
Kitchen Therapy
Aprovechar
CeliacChicks
What do you want to eat??
A Life of Sugar and Spice
Four Chickens

Food – I like reading about food in general too.
101 Cookbooks
Cheap Healthy Good
The Whole Kitchen
use real butter
Simply Recipes
Green Your Plate
Food Renegade

Fun – I need humor in my life. Often. In weird ways.
ROFLrazzi
PhD Comics
Pundit Kitchen
Questionable Content
The Oatmeal
xkcd
I Can Has Cheezburger?
I Has A Hotdog!
It Made My Day

Fitness – Or perhaps Health. Not sure, either way this is my new obsession.
[ 265andfalling ]
fit36
Get Fit Slowly
Hire the smart, fat girl.
So Long, Fat Ass!

Life Things to Think About – These four links are actually huge. I’ve been thinking a lot lately about what it means to me to have friends, what failure is for me, and how to make my life my own. These four sites are having a huge impact on me and how I think about things.
A Practical Wedding
MWF Seeking BFF
The Art of Non-Conformity
The Happiness Project

Other
angry chicken
Eating in Madison A to Z
SlickDeals
Small Notebook
The Manwife Chronicles
Mighty Girl

Personal Finance – I’ve read less and less on Personal Finance since I got my own finances under control. At this stage though, I do still need reminders every once in a while to spend less than I earn.
fivecentnickel
Get Rich Slowly
Frugal Babe
The Non-Consumer Advocate

Science – I won’t bore you with all the links here. But if you are into Microbiology, the journals below are a really good starting point to keep up on what is happening in the field, and really science in general.
Myrmecos
The Ant Hunter
Environmental Microbiology
Environmental Microbiology Reports
Environmental Entomology
Nature
Nature Reviews Immunology
Nature Reviews Microbiology
Molecular Microbiology
Science
Current Opinion in Microbiology
Trends in Ecology and Evolution

Leave a Reply

