Crispyish nut and herb fried pork

This was my base recipe. I think the recipe needs a bit of work. My dining companion said it was good, so I guess thats the go ahead to continue playing with the recipe. I’ll give you what I did below, and then some ideas for how I’ll make it better in the future after that.

1. Chop up most of a package of tarragon (one of those plastic clam shells you can get in the produce section of the grocery store.
2. In a food processor, grind up 1-2 cups pecan pieces (this will depend on the size of your meat, I didn’t measure mine). You want the nuts in very tiny pieces, not pasty but not large and chunky either.
3. Combine the nuts and tarragon. Add a few chopped up cloves of garlic. Add salt and pepper to taste. And maybe some paprika. I’d suggest mixing all this in a bowl, and then pouring it onto a plate for meat dipping.
4. Break and beat two eggs into a shallow dish you’ll be able to dip your meat into.
5. If you bought bone in pork chops like I did, cut out the bones. Trust me.
6. Beat your meat senseless. Pound the meat until it is kind of thin-ish. You want it thin enough to cook quickly, but not super thin. (and no, no matter how I write this direction, I just can’t stop sniggering).
7. Heat your cast iron skillet and melt some bacon fat in it, enough to be able to fry your meat in.
8. Dip the meat in the egg, then in the nut mixture and put it right into the hot skillet. Don’t crowd your meat. I had to do mine in two batches.
9. Cook about 5 minutes per side. You don’t want to burn the nuts, but you do want the meat cooked all the way through. Our pork was about 1/2″ to 3/4″ thick and close to 5 min was ample time to have it cooked all the way through without turning into shoe leather.

Changes: Frying in the bacon fat was awesome and I will definitely do it that way next time. The tarragon seemed like mostly a waste. I couldn’t really taste it, or the paprika. I think I need to choose a stronger herb next time. More garlic, and perhaps up the paprika too. This was a great base recipe that I can tell with some work will be fabulous. But this was a bit bland. I also liked the idea enough that I’ll probably try it with chicken and fish at some point.

Leave a Reply

