Carbs (again) and some links

I finally got into Daily Burn and figured out how to do the whole nutrient counting stuff. As I was really just interested to see how much of the macronutrients I was eating (carbs, fats, calories, protein), I wasn’t too worried that the rest of the nutrient profiling is behind a pay wall. Using just two days last week I can see that my *normal* carb intake is actually kind of low for an average American without even trying. And that includes eating some rice. Thu and Fri last week I hit 123g and 141g respectively of carbohydrates. Not bad considering I wasn’t really trying to be low carb and I’d actually consider those two days to be average days for me. According to Sisson, this should put me in the effortless weight maintenance category. And if we look at my recent physicsdiet chart, we see that is pretty much true:

My weight has been hovering in the low 160’s for almost two months now. The difference though since starting the Primal Challenge is that I’m also trying to increase my exercise. I’ve consistently been either walking to campus or biking. We even walked the 1.5 miles to a party last night. Granted, all the ‘good’ things I’ve been doing are probably still being outweighed by the ‘bad’ things I’m doing. There is still about 2 tsp of sugar in my coffee. I definitely indulged in alcohol last night. And gluten free pretzels. And if I were shooting for strict primal, the potato pancakes I had last night with dinner were also a no no. As I would like to lose a few pounds, I may try dialing in my carbs a bit more. I’m already planning to up my exercise a bit simply because I need it.

But the more I read, the less I’m sure the science firmly supports just the Primal category of eating. And as I get more into what is available on the internet… gosh I didn’t realize how big of a community this is!
Here’s a nice Venn diagram for you comparing the Paleo, Primal and Atkins diets (some simply call this vlc or very low carb). You can also be PaNu, which other than no dairy, also resonates with me.

Girl Gone Primal has a nice piec that really covers the SCIENCE side of this whole realm of eating, with tons of links included so you can read about the actual science.

As I mentioned last week, the more I read, the more convinced I am that really the answer is just eating whole foods. In moderation. One of the things that resonated with me from the PaNu site is he mentions that if potatoes work for you, then eat potatoes. Find what works for you. And my guess would be if you also focus somewhat on eating local and seasonally, you’ll find you probably end up on the lower side of the carb count because lets face it, corn and potatoes aren’t in season all year round, and if you focus on local, well, sorry, they don’t grow rice in Wisconsin!

2 Responses

  1. there’s no rice in Wisconsin? They grow wild rice here in Minnesota.

    • They grow wild rice (Zizania) here, I’m sure of it. But I meant rice in the more stereotypical sense, as in Oryza. If I want stereotypical white rice with my dinner, it sure as hell won’t be local!

Leave a Reply

