Brussel sprouts, the good way

I hear rumors that many people don’t like brussel sprouts. I’m not sure why, as to me, they are quite tasty.

Here’s how I did them last night to go with some bland and disappointing Porkchops with Mushroom Bourbon Cream Sauce (granted, I did forget to add the basil at the end). According to the Joy of Cooking, this recipe is THE way to get people to like brussel sprouts. I’m not too sure on that, as they definitely taste like brussel sprouts when they are done. But if you already like them, or are willing to give it a try, I think this is my new fall back for making brussel sprouts. I of course modified the recipe a bit from how it’s written in the Joy of Cooking.

I did this in my cast iron skillet which is honestly one of the best things I’ve ever bought with tax return money. I use mine almost every day (yay bacon and eggs for breakfast!). In fact, when I put the “lid” on (which is actually what I normally use to cook said bacon and eggs) it was covered in bacon grease, nom!

Yummy brussel sprouts
1. Chop up 2-3 cloves of garlic.
2. Heat a few tablespoons of bacon fat in the skillet over medium heat.
3. Add the garlic and let it brown, stirring every once in a while.
4. Rinse and cut your brussel sprouts in half. I had probably 3 dozen or so of them.
5. Add the brussel sprouts to the skillet, give them a good stir, cover the whole shebang, and turn the heat to low.
6. Cook 10-20 min, depending on your needs and how you like things cooked. Ours were probably closer to 25 min and had a nice light caramelization on them.

Unfortunately, this is all thats left :(

3 Responses

  1. yeah my dad will like this

  2. […] Lamb with Balsamic Sauce served with brussel sprouts. […]

  3. […] I’d probably just sit and eat the meat and glaze if left to my own devices. I served this with brussel sprouts. […]

Leave a Reply

