Dinner, now with pictures!

This time, I actually remembered to try to take pictures both before AND after cooking my dinner!
I was on my own for dinner tonight, so I decided to embellish a little bit and make myself something nice.

Here’s what I started with (ok, well, most of the ingredients):

I picked up a 0.8 lb top sirloin at the Coop after I picked up my last CSA of the season.
The CSA box had the sweet potatoes I used.
The beets were from a CSA box a month ago.
The tomato I grew myself.
The back left lettuce mix is also from today’s CSA box.
The back right lettuce is generic Dole green leaf lettuce from Woodmans.
I also had a pomegranate (very not local!) and feta.
And a topped off bottle of homemade dressing.
Other not pictured ingredients included Kosher salt, pepper, garlic powder, rosemary, butter, and bacon fat.

Here’s what I ended up with:

In order, to get this to be all ready at about the same time:
Assuming your beets are huge like mine, start a large pot of water boiling. You need enough water in the pot to cover the beets when you add them.
Finish cleaning the kitchen up so you’ll have ample clean counter space.
Once the water is boiling, put the beets in, keep the heat on medium-ish and cover the pot.
Preheat your oven to 500.
Slice the tomato and put it into a salad/large bowl.
Rinse and slice the sweet potatoes so that each wedge is about a half inch or so thick. Coat lightly with olive oil, sprinkle with salt and rosemary.
Put the lettuce in a colander and rinse it, setting it aside to let it drain and dry a bit.
If your oven is preheated, slide the potatoes in and roast for 20 minutes.
Meanwhile, put your meat on a plate and season both sides with salt, pepper and garlic powder.
Melt some bacon fat in a skillet, I prefer to use my cast iron.
Put the meat in with the heat on medium high.
Continue working on the salad by cutting up the feta.
Seed your pomegranate.
If your meat has been in the skillet for about 4 minutes, turn it over.
Finish seeding the pomegranate and add it and the greens to the salad bowl. Mix everything about.
Check the beets for doneness (this was about a half hour for mine, and they weren’t done).
Pull the potatoes out of the oven and set aside (make sure they are soft when stabbed with a fork).
Check the meat. Is it done to your liking? I like mine medium rare, so I pulled it off the stove and set it aside on a plate to rest. Otherwise you might want to keep cooking yours.
At this point my beets were done enough. Put them in a colander and rinse liberally with cold water. When they are cool-ish enough to handle, peel off the skins. If they are indeed done, the skins should slip right off under running water, though they might need a little help.
Slice the beets to the thickness of your liking, topping with butter and salt to taste.
Plate everything and enjoy!

The only changes I would make would be to spice my meat a bit more and add more salt to the beets. By the time I was eating I was too lazy to get back up and get salt.

Leave a Reply

