Let It Begin With Me

What would it look like if I helped support other people on this path, rather than being indifferent to them or even worse, holding them down? Why, as a woman, do I find it so hard to want to stand up for my right to take care of my body how I see fit on some fronts but not others? How do I put myself first? And what can I do to honor the decisions I have made, and yet still allow myself the space to mourn the paths I have not chosen?
What would it look like to support the decisions my friends make, regardless of what I think of those decisions? And even further, what would it look like to support the decisions of people I might not even like very much? Because, lets be honest, I don’t like everyone on this planet. Some a bit more than others.
How can I show myself and others better love and support, flaws and all.

What would it look like if I were a key dropper instead of a cage builder?


Poem by Hafiz, illustrated by Jolie Guillebeau.

Leave a Reply

