Green devils

I’m going to guess these were at least passable, if not good, as I bought a dish of them to a gathering tonight and came home with an empty dish. Plus I got a few ‘wow, these are good!’ comments. I got the idea from Marks Daily Apple and made modifications based on a comment on that post. I decided to keep them vegetarian so that my vegetarian friends could indulge too. I know dietary choices can be dicey in group settings, and if leaving out one simple nonessential ingredient lets one (or a few) more person/people eat my dish, then I’m all for it. Even if it means leaving out bacon.

Green Devils

Hard boil 1 dozen eggs.
I prefer the cold start method from Joy of Cooking: Put all dozen eggs in the bottom of a large pan. Fill with water with plenty to cover. Cover and put on high heat until the water boils. Once the water boils, turn the heat off, keep the cover in place, and let stand 15 minutes (for large eggs). You now have hard boiled eggs.
Cool by running under cold water and peel.

Other ingredients:
3 small avocados (I would imagine 2 large ones would work fine)
1 large clove of garlic
1 tsp paprika
1 tsp lemon juice
1 tsp prepared mustard
1 tbsp olive oil

Cut the eggs in half and scoop the yolks into a food processor bowl. Combine the yolks with the rest of the ingredients (leaving the egg whites aside of course) in the food processor.
Process the yolk/avocado mixture until it is smooth and well mixed.
Scoop the yolk/avocado mixture into a plastic zip top bag, preferably getting as much into one corner as possible.
Put the hard boiled egg whites into your container of choice.
Cut a small notch in the corner of the plastic bag where the mixture exists. You want the hole to be small, but not too small. Big enough for you to pipe the mixture out, but not so big the mixture just blobs out. I’d suggest cutting out a smaller hole than you think you need and cutting to larger if need be.
Pipe the mixture into the hard boiled egg whites. I’d suggest filling each one with a bit of mixture and then going back and topping off, as you’ll likely have PLENTY of extra yolk mixture.

Sprinkle with cayenne or paprika. Depends on what you have and what flavor you are going for. I honestly never notice the flavor of either, but still do it for some reason.

Leave a Reply

