Baileys Irish Cream

I drooled a little bit today over a recipe for Irish Cream Gluten-Free Pear Crisp For Two. But something tickled the back of my memory about Baileys Irish Cream. A quick google search just increased that confusion. Over the past 5 years, it’s been called gluten free, and then not. So I contact the company and simply asked: “Is Baileys Irish Cream gluten free?” I got back their stock response (which is also on their website):

Fri, Dec 10, 2010 at 11:20 AM
Thank you for taking time to contact Baileys. We appreciate hearing from our consumers because your feedback is important.

Please be advised that the whiskey used in Baileys is manufactured by fermenting grain, which contains gluten. Due to the presence of gluten in the whiskey components before distillation we cannot absolutely guarantee that there are no effects to coeliacs. As we are not qualified to give medical advice with regards to a gluten free diet, we ask that you please consult with your medical adviser before consuming Baileys.
Once again, thank you for contacting us and for your interest in Baileys.

Sincerely,
Kathleen L.
Baileys Consumer Representative

But that stock response didn’t really do anything for me. Is there gluten in the whiskey before distillation and thats why you are hesitant to call it gluten free? Because as we now know, distillation takes care of that. But perhaps it was something done after distillation? So I emailed them back and asked:

Is the only issue the presence of gluten in the whiskey before
distillation? Or are there other potential sources of gluten in
Baileys?

And really, this question has nothing to do with medical advice. My
doctor isn’t going to know if there is gluten in your product any more
than I do.
Thanks,

The one thing I’ll give them is that they got back to me promptly. The downside however is:

Fri, Dec 10, 2010 at 5:01 PM
Thank you for taking time to contact Baileys. Your feedback is important to us.
In regard to your inquiry, please note that if you have an allergy to gluten we would not recommend consuming the product as Baileys is not gluten free. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience this may cause.
Once again, thank you for contacting Baileys.

Sincerely,
Jill A.
Baileys Consumer Representative

So no Baileys for me. And a bit of frustration that another company just doesn’t seem to Get It.

5 Responses

  1. Great post GFPumpkins.

    Why oh why don’t Baileys just state this on their product and website clearly? Why do some Coeliac Food Bible’s list it as being GF. Very confusing for Coeliacs. Keep up the good work. We’ve posted a link to your good blog on our Facebook page.

  2. Very good blog post and research.

    So annoying that BIG Businesses get it wrong so often :-(

    I wonder how ‘Gluten Free’ knock-off versions of Baileys are then???

    Cider and Brandy for me this Christmas then!

  3. […] out my post from last year on Bailey’s Irish Cream is my top viewed post. So for the sake of my curiousity, I thought I’d revisit the topic to […]

  4. I feel tnis is among the so much significant information for me.
    And i am satisfied studying your article. But want
    to statement on some basic things, The web site taste is ideal, the articles is in pkint of fact
    excellent : D. Just right task, cheers

  5. Hey There. I found your weblog the usage of msn. That is a very well written article.
    I’ll make sure to bookmark it and return to read extra of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll definitely return.

Leave a Reply

