Almond pancakes for one

These were shockingly tasty. And definitely a make again. Not sure the ManBeast will find them filling enough, but with an egg and some bacon, I think they might suffice. This recipe comes from Purely Primal, and I do suggest reading a few of his hints and suggestions, as mine will be written a bit more bare bones.

1. Combine in a blender (yes, you do want to use the blender) 1 egg, 1 T honey, 1/2 T vanilla, 2 T water. Blend for 1+ minute.
2. In a separate bowl, combine 3/4 c almond flour, 1/4 t sea salt, 1/4 t baking soda, and 1/2 T tapioca starch, mixing well.
3. Add the dry to the wet and pulse the blender a few times to get everything mixed well.
4. If you’re like me, you’ll want to pour the batter into a small bowl, making sure to scrap out the inside of the blender jar.
5. Heat your pan on medium, I used my cast iron, and melt in a bit of bacon grease (or butter).
6. When the pan is hot enough, pour in batter, maybe 1/8 c plus at a time. I used the 1/4 measuring cup and found I needed around half of it to make a 3″ pancake. I wouldn’t go much larger than 3″, as you’ll likely find them a bitch to flip.
7. Just like regular pancakes, when the top is bubbly and starting to dry a bit at the edges, flip the pancake and cook for a bit longer. I found these browned to a deep brown really easily, with light brown not being cooked enough.
8. My batch made 5 3″ pancakes and a small one. These are not going to be light fluffy pancakes, but lighter and a bit more delicate. I found them sweet and flavorful enough to not want syrup on them. I just slathered them in butter and chowed down (with a few pieces of bacon to round out my breakfast).

One Response

  1. Thanks for the track-back. You prompted me to re-read that post and realize I still haven’t gotten around to putting up a decent hashbrown recipe. Guess I know what I’ll be doing next weekend!

Leave a Reply

