Curried sweet potato gratin

I’ve yet to find snow totals, but its enough that the public bus system is shut down today. The joys of living on a main road here is that the road in front of our apartment is pretty much cleared, though I’ll be shocked if side roads have been cleared well, as they never seem to be. It might take me a while to get my car out, but it will be good exercise for me. Why move my car? First, unless I don’t want a ticket tomorrow morning, I have to. We’re under a snow emergency which means tomorrow morning my car needs to be on the odd side of the street so that (ideally) overnight they can fully plow the even side of the street. Rinse, repeat. Second, I’ll go stir crazy if I don’t get out. The cats are fun and all, but I do need human contact of some sort, even if I don’t really speak to people. I’d planned to head out to the mall for another pair of jeans, and I think I’ll stick with that plan. Maybe another hour or so and I’ll venture out. I can take all main roads there, so it shouldn’t be an issue.

The Lamb with blueberry wine reduction sauce I had for dinner last night was so unremarkable, it’s not even worth me sharing the recipe for. Broiling the lamb with salt and pepper was great though, and I’m finding that I love the taste of lamb all on its own. But the reduction sauce was nothing special. I don’t even regret forgetting to put it away last night.

The sweet potato gratin however was fabulous. I do think it could use some more tweeking, but is a recipe I’ll be making again and one I think the ManBeast will like. I made very minor modifications this first go round, but next time I’ll skip the egg step (which I didn’t even include here, but you’ll see in the original if you read it). Just didn’t seem worth it to me.

1. Combine in a small pan, 2 c heavy cream, 1/2 T regular curry powder, 1/2 T hot curry powder, 1/8 t turmeric, 1/4 t bay leaf pieces (or half a bay leaf), 1 clove of garlic cut into small chunks. Bring to a boil and set aside.
2. Preheat oven to 375F.
3. Peal and slice 2 large sweet potatoes. I’d suggest about 1/4-1/2″ thick. Thinner if it’s your thing (which I’ll probably do next time). Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste.
4. Grate 1 c Parmesan.
5. Spray/grease/butter a 2 quart baking dish.
6. Alternating, put down a layer of sweet potatoes, then layer with a bit of parmesan, then sweet potatoes, them parm, etc, until you are out of sweet potatoes (but still have some parm left).
7. Strain the cream mixture to remove the garlic and bay leaf chunks.
8. Pour the cream over the sweet potato layers attempting to distribute it evenly.
9. Top with the remaining parmesan and sprinkle with pecan pieces. I did not measure how much pecan pieces I used, as I just reached into the container, sprinkled a bit on top of the gratin, and kept adding until I felt it was enough. You don’t want a thick layer or anything, just a decent heavy sprinkling.
10. Cover the whole shebang with aluminum foil and slide into the oven. Bake 30-45 minutes. Mine ended up getting a good blast at the end, as I switched to using the separate bottom broiler to do the lamb after the gratin had been in for 30 min, so the gratin ended up getting about 12 min at whatever temp the oven cranks to when the bottom broiler was on.

One Response

  1. I mean sure you could go add maple syrup or honey with marshmallows on top but I wouldn t wish one of those monstrous casseroles on my worst enemies let alone my own family though come to think of it there s some pretty significant overlap between those two groups . At their best they re creamy flavorful and sweet with a slightly crisp caramelized crust.

Leave a Reply

