Chocolate Bark

Eating paleo/primal has been going as well as I expected it would, and I’m really not struggling with it. I know I’m not hitting it 100%, but I’m ok with that, and I’m ok with the teaspoon or so of sugar in my morning coffee. I’m sure I’ll be back to eating rice, potatoes, and some corn when the ManBeast gets back and returns to his role of cooking the majority of our evening meals. But honestly, I’m not sure it will make much of a difference either way. I don’t eat many carbs to begin with. We’ll see, always things to think about.

Made Elana’s chocolate bark Sunday night to bring with me to a practice talk Monday night. It went over well and I’m almost finished with the few pieces that were left over. I however think that I’m starting to lose some of my sweet tooth. I used to be able to down all kinds of candy, and actually enjoy them. These days, I don’t crave it nearly as much. And I’ve gotten even more snobbish with my chocolate. In an effort to cut down on how much sweets I was eating in the evening a few months ago I decided to try the suggestion of having a few pieces of high quality super dark chocolate instead. Well, I settled on 88% dark chocolate from Endangered Species, and frankly, anything less just tastes like milk chocolate to me now. *sigh* I’m not sure if this is a good thing or not.

So in making the chocolate bark I used a combination of chocolates so that I could use up some of the bars I had bought but knew I didn’t want to eat by themselves. This is reflected below.

Chocolate Bark
1. Shell 1/3 c pistachios and set aside (mine were salted). Combine with 1/3 c sweetened dried cranberries.
2. 2 cups dark chocolate chips/chunks – for me this was almost two bars of 80% plus dark chocolate broken into pieces, filling out the two cups with semisweet Ghirardelli chocolate chips. Place this is a small but wide-ish pot and melt over low heat, stirring regularly.
3. While the chocolate is melting, line a 8×8″ glass baking dish with parchment paper. And yes, you really do want to use parchment paper here.
4. When the chocolate is fully melted, carefully pour it into the parchment paper lined dish and flatten out as best you reasonably can with a spatula.
5. Sprinkle with the pistachios and cranberries and smear it around with the spatula to work them into the chocolate a little bit.
6. Sprinkle with sea salt, less (.5 tsp) (likely) if you used salted pistachios, more (1 tsp) if you didn’t.
7. Patiently let it sit and solidify for at least a few hours.
8. Because you used parchment paper, the whole shebang will come right out of the dish, and with a sharp chefs knife, cut it into chunks.
9. Nom.

Leave a Reply

