Lamb chops with Balsamic sauce

I’m a fan of lamb. I like the general texture of it. I like the taste. But I’m not fond of the price tag in the grocery store. Thankfully Bucky Butchery usually has various cuts of lamb, all reasonably priced. So I get to have my lamb fix on my graduate student stipend. Weeee!!!

Lamb chops with balsamic sauce
I used lamb arm chops for this recipe. Honestly, I don’t suggest them. They were incredibly fatty, which isn’t necessarily a bad thing, but for how much fat there was, there wasn’t much meat. I made two large chops with this recipe, and ate both of them myself. So if you’re going to try this, I suggest some other chop version. I’m sure this would also work well with pork.

1. In a small bowl or cup, combine 3/4 t dried rosemary, 1/4 t dried basil, 1/2 t dried thyme, and salt and pepper to taste.
2. Rub this mixture all over 2 thick cut lamb chops and set them aside to marinate for a bit.
3. Chop up half a small onion.
4. Heat some bacon fat in a large skillet over medium heat. Cook the chops for about 3-4 minutes per side, slightly longer if you want your meat more well done, slightly less if you want them more rare. Remove and set aside, covered with aluminum foil to keep them warm.
5. Add the onion to the skillet and cook for a few minutes, until they are slightly browned.
6. Stir in 1/3 c balsamic vinegar, scraping up bits from the bottom of the pan.
7. Stir in 3/4 c chicken broth and cook over medium high heat for about 5 minutes, until the sauce is reduced by half. Or longer, if need be.
8. Remove from heat, and stir in 1 T butter. Pour over the lamb chops and consume.

One Response

  1. […] know I’ve said it before, and I should say it again to remind myself, but I really shouldn’t buy lamb arm chops. The […]

Leave a Reply

