Chicken with salsa verde

We got 16″ of snow in the past day or so, most of it last night. Campus was closed today. The buses weren’t running. Even government offices weren’t open. While I’m sure we could have made it in to campus, we chose not to. Instead, we dug the car out and moved it to the appropriate side of the street for tonight (yay living on a main road and alternate side parking! {seriously, it means our side of the street will be plowed tonight}), and then I donned a loaned pair of snowshoes and ventured out onto Lake Mendota. Unfortunately the life guards weren’t out, but at least the lake is frozen enough that swimming isn’t a big issue at this time of year.

I am a bit disappointed though that I can’t drive on the grass in the park. Not that I’m sure I could even find the grass at this time of year.

I made salsa verde back in November.

I took the extra and froze it figuring we’d figure out at some later point what to do with it. So tonight I made chicken tacos with salsa verde.

Chicken tacos with salsa verde
I know, imaginative title. What can I tell you, snowshoeing wiped me out. So if parts of this are loopy, it’s because I am loopy right now.

1. Preheat oven to 350F or so.
2. Chop up an onion and a clove or so of garlic. Set it aside.

3. Chop up four or so boneless skinless chicken thighs. Sprinkle liberally with lemon pepper.

4. Place some corn tortillas on a baking pan (I covered mine with parchment paper just in case the tortillas might have stuck to the baking pan). Sprinkle liberally with shredded cheese. I like colby jack, so the bottom ones are mine. The ManBeast prefers pepper jack; his are the top ones.

5. Melt about 2T coconut oil in a skillet. Cook the onion and garlic until slightly browned.

6. Add the chicken and turn quickly to coat with oil.
7. Place the tortillas in the oven.
8. Cook chicken, stirring frequently, until cooked through.
9. The cheese on your tortillas is probably melted by now. Take the pan out of the oven and set it aside.
10. When the chicken is cooked through, put it in a bowl and pour a spoonful or three of salsa verde over it. Stir.
11. Plate your tortillas with melted cheese.

12. Top with a spoonful or so of the chicken mixture, and then a bit of sour cream.

Dinner is served!

Leave a Reply

