Nostrano – restaurant review

In case you haven’t kept up with Madison news, the protests are still running strong. Saturday saw the largest numbers yet turn out with some estimating close to 100,000 people in attendance. Yesterday there was a bit of grumbling as the governor’s office supposedly wanted the building cleared out of protesters so cleaning could occur. Well, apparently he is capable of playing some cards close to his chest, because today they blocked anyone from coming back into the building. Even one of the elected representatives to the State Assembly had problems getting into the building.

In other sneaky moves, the head of the senate has now declared that all staff for the ‘missing’ senators must now go through him for time card approval. And no one can freely make photo copies. Seriously? Is this what this shit is coming to? I hope those people rot in hell (and get recalled and called up on corruption charges, which just might happen to Walker based on some of the stuff he’s said and done).

In more pleasant news, a restaurant review.

Last week I have the pleasure of dining at Nostrano here in Madison. They pride themselves with serving local seasonal foods, something that I’m sure is a bit more challenging, it being winter and all here in Wisconsin.

I was a bit early (and most of the rest of my dining party, late) so I joined a coworker at the bar, which had some interesting drinks to offer. As I was pumped full of sudafed due to a sinus infection, I chose to stick with water. But if I’m ever back (on someone else’s tab) I’ll be sure to try at least a few of their creative concoctions.

Once we were seated, our waitress did a great job making sure we were well taken care of. She did a great job answering my questions as to what was gluten free (the vast majority of the menu). Unfortunately they were out of the rabbit that night, which is what I would likely have ordered had they had it. If you’re looking for a place with a large offering, this isn’t your kind of place. They only had one vegetarian option, not that the rest of the menu was extensive either.

I ended up with the: Grilled Sturgeon
Chickpea Aioli | Roasted Artichoke | Nocellara Olives | Salsa Verde
which the waitress seemed to think was one of their best items. Quite a few in my dining party opted for the pork shoulder. No one complained on any level about the food, though a few of us commented on quantity. My dish was quite tasty and well presented. And small. While I don’t consider $19 a lot for a dish, I did leave still hungry (no one else was ordering dessert, but they weren’t exactly large enough to be filling either). But perhaps more important here, I didn’t get glutened.

My impression of Nostrano is that if you want to eat well, you’re going to need to shell out quite a bit of money. You’ll want an appetizer, and you’ll likely still have room for dessert. It could add up fast.

But the atmosphere was great, the waitstaff all were friendly and helpful. The food was well prepared. This is a place I’d happily let someone else pay for to have me eat at, but as I told the ManBeast, there is no need for it to be on our ‘to eat at’ list. The food wasn’t so amazing that I think he needs to try it, and for the price and size of the dishes, I’d rather try another place neither of us have been to.

One Response

  1. Thanks for the note about the co-op, I checked out the fees and for some reason thought it was per year, but a one time fee is much more reasonable!

Leave a Reply

