Chinese style ribs

I’m home sick today with some sort of upper respiratory viral infection. I thought it was my allergies, being as I ran out of my normal antihistamine Saturday and thought it a wise idea to use up the back store I had of less than ideal antihistamine. So when I got a sore throat, I chalked it up to post nasal drip. And when I started feeling fatigued, I chalked it up to my allergies, which if not kept in check, make me fatigued. Monday I remembered I had some nasal spray that I thought should have helped the post nasal drip. Tuesday night I decided I’d had enough, and stopped to get my usual antihistamine after I went to my meeting. And last night, when I still wasn’t feeling any better, I decided to actually look into my mouth and see what was going on. It wasn’t good, and I decided it looked like I could have strep throat. So I called urgent care and they got me in for an appointment this morning. The rapid strep test was negative, and the PA who saw me said my symptoms actually more likely were from a viral infection. The white stuff in my throat didn’t really look like that of strep throat. So I’ll just have to wait this out. I’m just fatigued enough that I don’t really feel like doing anything, but I’m not so fatigued that all I want to do is sleep. It’s really annoying. And if I sit for long enough, I start to feel better, but the minute I’m up and trying to do something, all I want to do is sit back down. Cleaning the kitchen tonight was torture, and now I’m paying for it.

Chinese style ribs
Spare ribs were on sale at the Butchery last week for $2.50 a pound. The only package they had left was 2.5 lbs; I bought them with no clear plan in mind. So early this week when I opened up the package to see what they actually looked like, I instantly wanted chinese style ribs. Like the ones my parents used to order for me from the chinese food place that was behind our house when I was younger (which was actually run by a really nice Korean family). You know, sticky, sweet, tangy, slightly spicy. I could eat an entire bag of them myself. I found a recipe on allrecipes that looked reasonable taste wise, altered to what we had on hand, and mashed it with a cooking technique that seemed like it would work. I’d call the sauce recipe a work in progress. The ManBeast liked it, but I think it could use some more tweaking. The other thing I’d do different next time would be to cut the ribs apart prior to cooking. Yes, it would likely make them more of a pain to baste and turn, but I think it would get the taste of the sauce into the meat better. You could also marinate the meat, but I never seem to remember. I also didn’t actually measure out all the 2.5 T below. I guesstimated as a bit under 3T.

Here’s your teaser picture:

This is for 2.5 lbs spare ribs.
1. Preheat oven to 350F.
2. In a small bowl mix:
1/2 c hoisin sauce
2.5 T ketchup
2.5 T honey
2.5 T soy sauce
2 T sesame oil
2 T ume plum vinegar
2.5 t lemon juice
2.5 t minced ginger
1 clove minced garlic
a rounded .5 t five spice powder
3. Line a baking sheet with aluminum foil (yes, this is definitely a good idea, and so would spraying it with cooking oil).
4. Place the ribs meaty side up and brush liberally, but not sopping wet, with sauce. Turn over, and brush the ‘bottom’ side.
5. Bake for 20 minutes and then brush with more sauce. Bake 20 more minutes.
6. Turn ribs over and baste with more sauce. Bake 20 minutes. Then baste with more sauce. Bake a final 20 minutes.
7. If your oven is the right temperature, the ribs should be perfectly cooked at this point. If not, you might want to cook them more.
We had extra sauce, which I boiled down a bit, and then completely forgot about. Next time we’ll use it for dipping sauce (though if the ribs were cut apart, I don’t imagine there would be as much left over sauce as there would be more surface area to cover).

One Response

  1. Combine barbecue sauce 1 2 cup water brown sugar and espresso powder in heavy medium saucepan. Simmer until flavors blend and sauce thickens slightly stirring occasionally about 10 minutes. This recipe from CDKitchen for Ribs With Espresso Barbecue Sauce serves makes 8Recipe ID 45868 0 Reviews So Far Related Recipes .

Leave a Reply

