Gluten free cake in a cup

I was at a meeting this evening were cupcakes were served afterwards in celebration. Of course they weren’t gluten free and of course I wanted some. So I looked up some cake in a cup recipes when I got home. I didn’t see any one recipe that struck me as being good, so I did my usual and combined a few. Now, if you’re like me, and like cake because you like the icing, then you’ll be slightly disappointed with this. I really wish I had bought home the left over chocolate buttercream I have at work from another baking experiment. That would have gone perfect with this. As it is, I don’t have the buttercream here, and I wasn’t in the mood to make whipped cream. So I did without. And there’s still about 1/3 of the cake still left in the cup, because, well, I need my icing. Perhaps I’ll put it in a plastic container and bring it to work with me tomorrow and have my chocolate buttercream with it :)

Gluten free cake in a cup
1. Melt 2.5 T butter in a large microwave save mug.
2. Stir in 4 T sugar, then 3 T cocoa. Mix in a large egg. Then stir 1 T each of sweet rice flour, brown rice flour, white rice flour, and potato starch. Stir in 2 T heavy cream (milk would probably suffice too). And last, but not least, 1/2 t vanilla. Make sure it’s all good and mixed.
3. Microwave. For my microwave it was 45 seconds, 45 seconds, 30 second. Stick a knife to the bottom to make sure it’s done.
4. Eat from cup.

I’ve made cake in a cup before, but whatever flour mixture I used, I wasn’t thrilled with it. This one seemed to work sell, as the flour flavors themselves aren’t overwhelming. Now to figure out white cake in a cup. It make shock people to know, that despite my obsession with chocolate, I actually don’t really like chocolate cake all that much. I prefer my chocolate dark, and that just doesn’t translate to cake for me. I’ll have to play around with recipes for other flavors of cake in a cup.

One Response

  1. […] cooking times. But the taste was good and it’s all gone. I liked this much better than the chocolate cake in a cup that I made a while back. So much for low […]

Leave a Reply

