Iced ginger chai

I’m not too sure how Rascal is doing. His blood work came back better last week. His initial eosinophil count was 17 X10^3, the normal range is 0-2 x10^3. It came back at 4 last week. So whatever we did, or whatever his body is doing for itself, is helping. but he had a major vomiting session last night, and has been lethargic today, so that has me really worried. I’m really hoping this is not the beginning of the digestive issues if he does indeed have hypereosinophilic syndrome (which I’m going to start calling HES in writing). At this point, I’m taking it one day at a time. If he doesn’t have HES, then it likely isn’t too serious, and his treatment will stay the same. He’ll die one day either way. If he does have HES, this treatment will stay the same, and he’ll just die sooner rather than later. I’m coming to accept that we’re really doing everything for him that we can and that that is good enough.

[Iced ginger chai](http://www.elanaspantry.com/iced-ginger-chai/). Something happier to think about. I’m almost hesitant to repost this recipe, since it’s pretty easy and I hate even the prospect of plagiarizing someone else’s work. But this is one of those recipes that I’m afraid will disappear one day. So I want my own copy.

I love reading [elena’s pantry](http://www.elanaspantry.com/), but I don’t often make much of what she posts. We’ll chalk it up to laziness. I’m glad I wasn’t lazy with this recipe. I made a half batch Saturday. And drank it all on Sunday. Last night I made a full batch. I don’t see it lasting more than a few days.

Iced Ginger Chai
There are many variants on chai, so if you like this play around with it and make it really your own.

1. In a large pot (one where you have room for your concoction to boil) combine:
8 cups of water
1/2 cup chopped fresh ginger, I too left the skin on
10 pods cardamon
5 whole cloves
10 whole black peppercorns
1/2 teaspoon fennel seed (I despise fennel, but here I can’t taste it, win!)
1/4 cup loose rooibos tea (or black if you want the caffeine)

2. Bring it all to a boil and let it simmer for 30 minutes, you want it to reduce some.
3. Turn off the heat and cover and let sit overnight.
4. Strain the next day and store in the fridge. This is now your chai concentrate.

To serve: Add some ice to a glass, pour in about a cup of chai concentrate, and top with almond milk. I’ve been making mine in small mason jars so that I can put all three in together and just shake it up. I’ve put heavy cream in too with the almond milk, and that tastes fabulous.

I sweetened mine with honey. What I did figure out with the first batch is that honey doesn’t like to dissolve in a cold liquid (duh). So this time after I strained it, I put some of the liquid back in the pot, added honey, and heated the whole thing up to get the honey to dissolve and then added that back in with the rest of the concentrate. If you do it this way, you’ll have to play around with figuring out how much to add, as I didn’t measure how much honey I put in.

Ideas for what to try next time (taken from the comments on elana’s pantry):
-use four black tea bags (Darjeeling, Assam, oolong)
-add a stick of ginger
-add a star of anise

Leave a Reply

