recipes in the works, and green beans

I’ve made a few things recently that I want to post, but I don’t want to post them until I’ve actually eaten them. I made maraschino cherries the other night. But they need to soak for two weeks, ideally. I might hold out to next week and then see how they taste. I also made dill pickles out of cucumbers from my own garden. But those also need two weeks. And just now I made some orange cream ice pops. But those will need to freeze over night. So hopefully soon I’ll have some new exciting recipes for you. In the mean time, green beans are in season. Here’s what I made with a few handfuls tonight for dinner.

Easy green beans
1. Put a pot of water on to boil with enough room to fit your green beans in.
2. While the water is heating up, rinse and cut the ends off your green beans. If you’ve got a newer cultivar (and if you don’t know, you likely do have a newer cultivar), you shouldn’t have to destring them. If you’ve got an older cultivar, you might need to destring them.
3. When the water is boiling, drop the green beans into the water and blanch for 6ish minutes. More or less depending on how cooked or crunchy you like your green beans.
4. While the green beans are cooking, chop up one to two cloves of garlic and a few sprigs of fresh dill. Mince them together.
5. When the beans are done, remove them either with a slotted spoon or use a colander.
6. In a bowl combine the hot beans, one to two tablespoons of butter, your garlic/dill mince, and a few shakes of salt. Mix well and serve.

Leave a Reply

