My mom’s tomato sauce

I discovered the cookbook section of the university library that is across from my building on campus. This could be bad. Really bad. Or really tasty.

This recipe is truly my mom’s recipe, and her mom’s recipe. I did not grow up eating tomato sauce from a jar. While my mom always used canned whole tomatoes, the sauce was always made by her. You can certainly use canned tomatoes in this recipe, or fresh as I’ve attempted to detail below. If you find the sauce too thin, or not tomato-y enough after cooking down, I suggest adding tomato paste until you get it to how you like it.

My mom’s tomato sauce
1. In a medium soup/stock pot combine:
-About a half a pot worth of roughly chopped tomatoes (roughly 3 28oz cans), mine looks like about 6 cups, I’ve honestly never measured.
-1 tsp salt
-1 tsp oregano
-1 Tbsp sugar

2. Bring to a boil and reduce to simmering. Simmer for 1-2 hours.
3. Put through a food mill to get out all of the skin and seeds.
4. If you still aren’t satisfied with the thickness of the sauce, continue to cook it down some more.
5. If the taste isn’t quite there for you, add some more of what you think it needs, and simmer just a bit more.
6. This sauce can certainly be used fresh. It also freezes well. Unless you REALLY know what you are doing, I don’t suggest canning this recipe, as I have no clue if the acidity level meets any of the guidelines for canning.

In hindsight, this recipe works much better as a conversation than a list of instructions. There are so many variables here. Have fewer tomatoes? More? It will still work, you just need to adjust. Really like other spices in your sauce? Have at it. Prefer it sweeter? Etc. This sauce is VERY easy to modify.

Leave a Reply

