New to me ciders

Beer tour 2011, I mean, Family tour 2011, wrapped up last week and I came back with TEN new to me ciders to try.

While there are 11 bottles in this picture, I’ve had the Woodchuck special reserve before (all 12 bottles of it :) But of the others, I had never seen them. So into our bottle collection in the trunk they went.

So far, I’ve tried the Peach Hard Cider from Bean Blossom Hard Cider made by Oliver’s Winery in IN. The cider was incredibly light and fruity, more peach cider to me than apple cider with peaches. Would I buy it again? Unlikely. Am I glad I tried it? Certainly. And now I’ve got the funky bottle to show for it.

Look forward to a few more reviews. I’m not sure I’ll review them all, but hopefully I remember to post about the notable ones.

2 Responses

  1. oh, man, I want to taste that Woodchuck special reserve. It’s one of the two I have left to try (still need to get ahold of Crisp as well).

    Maybe it’s just me, but I’m not a fan of Crispin. It’s a Minnesota cider, and I just don’t like it. It’s okay, but not great.

    Magner’s is great :-) The Scrumpys you have in there (JJ?) next to Magner’s is also good.

    In Portland, Oregon, there is a bar with only hard cider on tap. I am so visiting over Christmas.

  2. Have you had the Woodchuck pumpkin too? That’s pretty tasty in my opinion.

    I’m not a fan of the ‘regular’ Crispin, but some of their specialty flavors have been good. I’ve had the Landsdowne a few times, and I’ve liked it. I think what I really like about Crispin is that they are the only cider brewery I’ve seen that actively is trying ‘new’ things. Not just different fruits added in. But different yeasts and flavor combinations.

Leave a Reply

