Thai Chicken Curry

OOOooo, my chicken curry counts on here now too, as I made it tonight with CSA box stuff.

This is pretty close to the Thai Kitchen recipe for Thai chicken curry. Though honestly, I’m getting less and less happy with the Thai Kitchen green curry paste. I think they’ve changed recipes because no matter how much curry paste I put in now, I can NEVER get it spicy hot.

First the basic recipe, then the details on how I actually do it.
Thai green curry chicken

1 lb chicken, give or take
veggies
1 can of coconut milk (I recommend the regular, not the low fat)
1-2 T green curry paste
1-2 T fish sauce
2 T brown sugar

1. Chop your veggies if you’re using fresh (tonight was two sad old carrots and a random summer squash, and some frozen green beans).
2. Combine the can of coconut milk with the green curry paste in a large-ish pot (I used 2 T of curry paste tonight and it had NO kick to it *sigh*).
3. Start chopping your chicken into bite size pieces. When you’re almost done, turn the burner under the pot on.
4. Simmer the coconut milk and curry paste for five min.
5. Add the chicken, 2T fish sauce, 2T brown sugar, and any frozen veggies you are using.
6. Cook 5 min on medium heat.
7. Add any fresh veggies.
8. Cook 5 more min.
Serve over rice.

I’ve used frozen stir fry veggies successfully. In fact, I almost always have a bag of them in the freezer (I like the mondo bag from Costco). This is one of those recipes I pretty much ALWAYS have the ingredients for.
You can add 1/2 c of chicken stock to extend the sauce a bit.

Summer Salad

This is one of those non-recipe recipes. One of those “I have a pot luck to be at in 1/2 hour and I don’t know what to bring and I don’t have time to cook” sort of things. I had a lot of veggies sitting around, and since I pick up a new box Sat, figured I should get through a bit more of what I had. Plus I picked up a HUGE zucchini at work. This was also a good reminder to me that salads don’t always involve a lettuce base.

So here’s what I ended up with.
Summer Salad
2 limp carrots
1 small eggplant
1 very small zucchini
1/3 of a very large zucchini
2 ears of corn shucked and cut from the cob
about 1″ of jalepeno, seeds removed
1 medium tomato
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
3/4 cup olive oil

Chop all the veggies into bite size pieces (I’d suggest deseeding the tomato and the larger section of the zucchini) and put into a large bowl.
Mix the olive oil and balsamic vinegar together (I save salsa jars for dressing making, shaking is easy and there’s so much less clean up then a blender, but I’m sure it doesn’t blend as well. Whatever).
Pour dressing over veggies and if you have a lid that seals tight, place it on and give it all a good shake to mix. Open and serve.

Seriously easy. Honestly, any veggie that tastes ok raw could go into this.